Device Groups for More Safety

Like the devices, gases, vapors, and dust are divided into various groups according to their properties. This division simplifies the right selection of devices for the various gases, vapors, and dusts.

Until the standard EN 60079 0:2009 was introduced, devices permitted in hazardous zones were divided into two groups. Since it came into force, it has been three: groups 1, 2 and 3.

WAGO in Explosion Protection

Principles of Explosion Protection

Everything worth knowing about Ex protection at a single glance.

Dividing the Device Groups

  • Group I: Devices for mines susceptible to firedamp.
  • Group II: Devices for use in area subject to gas explosion (not mines)
  • Group III: Devices for use in areas with flammable dust (not mines)

The electrical devices of Group II are also subdivided into the groups IIA, IIB, and IIC, depending on the type of atmosphere subject to explosion. This assignment affects the ignition protection types pressure-proof encapsulation (Ex d) and intrinsically safe (Ex i).

Devices for areas with flammable dust are also subdivided into the following groups depending on the type of dust:

  • Flammable lint
  • Non-conductive dust
  • Conductive dust

Device Division

GroupGasMaximum experimental safe gap MESGMinimum ignition current MIC
IIAPropane> 0.9 mm> 0.8
IIBEthylene0.5 … 0.9 mm0.45 … 0.8
IICHydrogen< 0.5 mm< 0.45

Read More Here

What happens during an explosion, which factors are important, and what protective measures are available? Everything you need to know about ATEX, Ex zones, ignition protection categories, etc.

WAGO Products for Explosion Protection

Your WAGO Contact

Additional service offerings: